Department Chair: Dr. Janice Pope (popejt@appstate.edu)

The Department of Communication, located in the College of Fine and Applied Arts, offers majors in advertising, communication studies, electronic media/broadcasting, journalism, and public relations.

Our department has a strong internship program so students can acquire experience in their chosen fields. Students are given one semester hour of credit for every 40 hours of work they do at their internship. Each intern is supervised by a faculty advisor, who meets with the student and the student's supervisor to discuss progress and potential.

Several departmental scholarships are available to students. Scholarships and grants from outside sources are also advertised for students to pursue.

Graduates of our department work in a wide range of positions in media, corporate, agency, government, and nonprofit organizations. We encourage our alumni to stay in touch. Alumni can serve on the Alumni Board and often come back to guest lecture in classes. If this sounds interesting to you, check out the Alumni page.

Several student organizations are active in the Department. These include the Forensics Union, the Ad Club, the Public Relations Student Society of America, the Society of Professional Journalists, WASU (the student-run campus radio station), AppTV (student-staffed television channel), the National Broadcasting Society, and APP.COM. Check out their pages for more information on how you can get involved.


Walker HallDepartment Office

The Department Office is located on the first floor of Walker Hall. Head through the double doors at the north end of the building, past the elevator, and follow the signs toward the left.

Beasley Media ComplexElectronic Media/Broadcasting

The Electronic Media/Broadcasting area, including WASU 90.5 and AppTV, is located in the Beasley Media Complex, which is also located on Rivers Street next to Café Portofino. The map below should help you locate these buildings on campus, or you can visit App State's Map page for more complete directions and maps. 



Department Chair

Dr. Janice Pope
Walker 141

Assistant Chair

Dr. Nina Jo Moore
Walker 122

Second Assistant Chair

Dr. Scott Welsh
Walker 240

Department Phone Numbers

Voice: 828-262-2221
Fax: 828-262-2543

Mailing Address

Department of Communication
ASU Box 32039
Boone, NC 28608-2039

Personal contact information can be found in the Faculty and Staff directories.